Skip to content


Luca Fiorentini – Cellist

Biography – Luca Fiorentini

Luca Fiorentini was born in Venice in 1966. He studied in Venice with Adrian Vendramelli and graduated from the Conservatory of Milan with Rocco Filippini. Luca Fiorentini for his musical gifts had major awards from such greats as : Claudio Abbado, Riccardo Muti, Mstislav Rostropovich, Natalia Gutman, David Geringas, Paul Tortellier, David Stern , Carmignola, Fabio Luisi , Ola Rudner, Franco Rossi and many others. He studied with Paul Tortellier, Anner Bylsma, Mistislav Rostropovich, David Geringas, Daniel Shaffran, Dario De Rosa , Franco Rossi and Piero Farulli. He attended numerous Academies, including Cremona the "Stauffer", the Chigiana, the Mozarteum in Salzburg. For five years he studied at the Musik Hochschule in Vienna in the class of Wolfgang Herzer , principal cellist of the Vienna.

He won several first prizes in national and international competitions ,He has performed all over the world both as a soloist and in a quartet and piano trio getting great praise by critics and especially pubblico.In has performed as a soloist in the most 'important Italian theaters and in Austria, Japan, France, Switzerland, Germany, Spain , Mexico, England, Russia,Turkey, Usa etc.. In June 2010 held important Recitals with great success in Washington and New York. From 1988 al 1993 He did the orchestra of the Vienna Philharmonic and the Vienna State Opera Orchestra, with which continues today to work. In the same period was cellist Gustav Mahler Quartet formed by first parts of the orchestra Wiener Philharmoniker. In June 1998 and 'it was called by M.o Riccardo Muti to take the first cello for the opera "Manon Lescaut" at the "Teatro alla Scala", recorded for Deutsche Grammophon. Until March 2000 and 'it was principal cellist of the Teatro alla Scala and the Orchestra Filarmonica della Scala. E 'was principal cellist of the Theater "Carlo Felice" in Genoa , Orchestra of the Maggio Musicale in Florence , Teatro Regio di Parma, the Orchestra of the Fenice in Venice and the Haydn Orchestra of Bolzano, the "Philharmonia Orchester Wien" and always in Vienna of the "Tonkünstler Orchester", The "Mozart" Orchestra by Claudio Abbado. He played countless times both as first cello in line with conductors such C.M. Giulini, G.Solti, G. Pretre, C.Abbado, S.Ozawa, D.Baremboim, L.Maazel, M. Jansons, W.Sawallisch, G. Sinopoli, Z.Mehta, Sir C.Davies, B. Haitink, Sir S.Rattle, F.Luisi, S. Bychkov, etc., In 2008 he founded the Trio Shostakovich , with great musicians like Slava Moroz violin (son of Natalia Gutman) e Dmitri Vinnik pianoforte. He plays in duo with pianist Jakub Tchorzewski. The composer Marco Sofianopulo has dedicated the song "Psalm of David and dance" performed for the first time and brought to Europe in 2006. Andrea Ferrante, the famous composer, He wrote and dedicated to Luca Fiorentini the "Blue Concerto" for cello and orchestra and "Concerto Playful" for Cello and String Orchestra . He has recorded the complete works, premiere edition, CD Concert and sonatas by Antonio Vivaldi Cello , Strings and Continuo together with the Orchestra of the 'Musical Offering and harpsichordist Marco Vincenzi for Nalesso Record, achieving great critical acclaim for quality 'artistic CDs. In 2012 he recorded for the house "Brilliant Classics" a CD along with the pianist Stefania Redaelli of the complete works for cello and piano by Felix Mendelssohn with the famous Stradivarius cello "Christians-Stauffer" . The CD was named CD of the month by the magazine "Music Web International". It 'been professor of cello at the Scuola di Musica di Fiesole,both 1993 that in 2007 for many years, in addition to being the teacher of the row of cellos of the Italian Youth Orchestra. He has given masterclasses at the courses from Lucca 2000 al 2006 It is in the 2011 masterclass he held in the city 'of Assisi. And 'professor of cello at the Conservatory "Buzzolla" Adria. E 'was Professor of Cello for the upper two years at the "G. Tartini" in Trieste, and it 'was for eight years until 2008 teacher at the "Monteverdi" of Bolzano and "Steffani" in Castelfranco Veneto.

Repertoire Luca Fiorentini 2018

Cello solo

  • Johann Sebastian Bach – Six Suites for Unaccompanied Cello
  • Domenico Gabrieli – Seven Search for Cello
  • Paul Hindemith – Cello Sonata op.25, n.3
  • Gaspar Cassado ' – Cello Suites

Cello and Orchestra

  • Antonio Vivaldi – All Concerts for Cello and Orchestra
  • Franz Joseph Haydn – Concerto in Do Magg. e in Re Magg.
  • Robert Schumann – Concerto in A minor
  • Luigi Boccherini – Concerto in D major
  • Camille Saint-Saëns – Concerto No. 1
  • Dimitri Shostakovich – Concerto No. 2
  • Max Bruch – Kol Nidrei
  • Ludwig van Beethoven – Triple Concerto

Cello and continuo

  • Antonio Vivaldi – Nine Sonatas for Cello and b.c.
  • Alessandro Scarlatti – Sonata n.1 in re min
  • Nicolo 'Porpora – Sonata in Do magg.
  • Gaetano Boni – Sonata in B Major.
  • Luigi Boccherini – Sonata. 4 , n.5, n.6, n.8, n.15

Cello and Piano

  • Ludwig van Beethoven - Sonata n.1 op.5 e2
  • Sonata op.69 in La Magg.
  • Sonata op.102 n.1
  • Op.66 Twelve variations on "The Magic Flute"
  • Felix Mendelssohn - All the work for cello and piano
  • Johannes Brahms - Sonata Due
  • Robert Schumann - Five pieces in popular style
  • Cesar Frank – Sonata in La Magg.
  • Camille Saint-Saëns - “Cheerful Passionate” op.43
  • Anton Webern - Two pieces 1897
  • Sonata 1917
  • Three short pieces op.11
  • Claude Debussy – Sonata
  • Sergeij Prokoffiev - Sonata Op.119
  • Benjamin Britten - Sonata op.65 in Do Magg.
  • Dimitri Shostakovich – Sonata op.40
  • R. Boisdeffre – All the work for VLC. and plan
  • Niccolo 'Paganini - Variations on the first string by Rossini
  • Goffredo Petrassi - Prelude, Aria , Finale
  • Bach-Kodaly - Prelude and Fugue
  • Ernest Bloch – Prayer from Jewish life
  • Paul Hindemith – Meditations
  • Three easy pieces
  • Edward Grieg – Sonata per vlc. and piano.
  • Frederick Chopin – Sonata per vlc. and piano.
  • Polonaise Brillante
  • K.Szimanowski – Sonata for VLC. and plan
  • W.Lutoslawski – “Grave” for vLC. and plan
  • A.Piazzolla – “The Grand Tango” for VLC and piano
  • A.Ferrante – “The Uncertainty” for vLC. and plan, dedicated to Luca Fiorentini
  • David Popper – “Tarantella”
  • A.Piatti Spare various VLC. and plan
  • Marco Sofianopulo - Psalm of David and dance 2006, dedicated to Luca Fiorentini